Many of our members are involved in helping the office furniture industry grow and improve by contributing their time and expertise to our committees and task groups. We are always looking for member participation in our groups working on Advocacy, Standards, Sustainability, and Statistical Information. For information on BIFMA's volunteer committee structure click here.


Advocacy is coordinated through the BIFMA Government Affairs Committee that monitors legislation and regulations affecting the industry to keep association members informed and recommend steps for action.

Government Affairs Committee
Staff: Brad Miller
Chair: Scott Lesnet, HNI Corporation
Vice-Chair: Robert Hupe, Virco 

Legislative/Regulatory Issue Interest Group 

  • Conflict Minerals
  • Consumer Protection (CPSC, OSHA)
  • Taxation (Mobile Workforce / Business Activity Tax Simplification)
  • Trade (NAFTA, Steel Tariffs)
  • Wood (Lacey Act, Wood Fiber)


Chemical RegulationInterest Group 

  • Flame Retardants
  • Formaldehyde (EPA & CARB Rules)
  • Proposition 65 (California)
  • Safer Consumer Products Program (California)


Government ProcurementInterest Group 

  • General Services Administration
  • PWGSC (Canada)


Statistical Information

Statistical Information Committee is responsible for the BIFMA Statistical Program. This includes the collection and distribution of market and financial statistics regarding new orders and shipments, product categories, geographic and other industry statistics. The Statistical Information Committee also conducts or sponsors market research projects and surveys into subjects of interest to the membership.

Statistical Information Committee
Staff: Melissa Hubbel
Chair: Open

Financial Subcommittee
Forecast Subcommittee
Market Data Subcommittee


The Engineering Standards Committee monitors technical concerns and gives each manufacturer the opportunity to keep abreast of the demands of the market for the safety and performance of products. The committee establishes product safety and performance standards for the protection of the public.

Engineering Standards Committee
Staff: David Panning
Chair: Randy Ruster, Herman Miller
Vice-Chair: Melissa DuBuis, Steelcase

Building Codes Subcommittee:
Chair: Dave VanDyke, Herman Miller
Vice-Chair: Randy Carter, Steelcase

Chair Standards Subcommittee:
Chair: John Knust, National Office Furniture
Vice-Chair: Melissa DeBuis, Steelcase

  • ANSI/BIFMA X5.1 Office Seating
  • ANSI/BIFMA X5.11 Large Occupant Seating
  • ANSI/BIFMA X5.4 Lounge and Public Seating
  • ANSI/BIFMA X6.1 Educational Seating
  • BIFMA X6.4 Occasional Use Seating


Desk/Table Standards Subcommittee:
Chair: Jerry Nichols, Versteel
Vice Chair: Open

  • ANSI/BIFMA X5.5 Desk Products


Ergonomics Standards Committee:
Chair: Lucy Hart, Global
Vice Chair: Teresa Bellingar, Haworth

  • BIFMA G1 Ergonomics Guideline for Furniture


File/Storage Standards Subcommittee:
Chair: Tom Dykstra, Haworth
Vice Chair: Casey Van Winkle, Kimball

  • ANSI/BIFMA X5.9 Storage


Flammability Standards Subcommittee:
Chair: Robert Hupe, Virco
Vice Chair: Tom Dykstra, Haworth

Furniture Emissions Standards Subcommittee:
Chair: Randy Carter, Steelcase
Vice Chair: John Shank, Kimball International

  • ANSI/BIFMA M7.1 Standard Test Method for Determining VOC Emissions
  • ANSI/BIFMA X7.1 Standard for Formaldehyde and TVOC Emissions


Healthcare Furniture Subcommittee:
Chair: Randy Ruster, Herman Miller
Vice Chair: Casey Van Winkle, Kimball

International Standards Subcommittee:
Chair: John Norton, Herman Miller
Vice Chair: Jeff Musculus, Steelcase

Panel Standards Subcommittee:
Chair: Melissa DuBuis, Steelcase
Vice Chair: Desmond Noteboom, Haworth

  • ANSI/BIFMA X5.6 Panel Systems


RTA/SOHO Standards Subcommittee:
Chair: Melissa DuBuis, Steelcase
Vice Chair: Open

  • ANSI/SOHO S6.5 Small Office/Home Office



The BIFMA Sustainability Committee studies work environments and business practices based on sound economics, environmental protection, and social responsibility. The committee's initiatives foster partnerships between manufacturers, suppliers, end users, and the science community; provides association members with education on sustainability design; and develops meaningful tools for quantifying and communicating industry progress to interested parties.

Sustainability Committee
Brad Miller
Chair: Mary Ellen Mika, Steelcase
Vice-Chair: Jane Abernethy, Humanscale

e3/level® Subcommittee
Chair: David Jonas, Steelcase
Vice-Chair: Mendy Claridge, National Office Furniture

Chemicals Subcommittee
Chair: Denise Van Valkenburg, Herman Miller
Vice-Chair: Clinton Boyd, Steelcase

Life Cycle Assessment Subcommittee
Chair: Alex Mlsna, Kimball International
Vice-Chair: Roy Green, The Gunlocke Company